What Are The Five Love Languages? Explained

What Are The Five Love Languages? Explained

Have you ever questioned whether your partner still loves you? You’re not alone. You also might be speaking a different love language than your partner.

Nearly everyone wants to show their partner that they care. Yet, many people struggle to do it in a way that speaks to their loved one’s heart. If you find that this describes your situation, you may want to learn more about the five love languages, developed by author, pastor, and counselor Dr. Gary Chapman.

What are the Five Love Languages?

The five love languages are five different ways of expressing and receiving love:

  • Words of affirmation
  • Quality time
  • Receiving gifts
  • Acts of service
  • Physical touch

Not everyone communicates love in the same way, and likewise, people have different ways they prefer to receive love.

The concept of love languages was developed by Gary Chapman, Ph.D., in his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, where he describes these five unique styles of communicating love, categories he distilled from his experience in marriage counseling and linguistics. 

Although Chapman’s book, The 5 Love Languages, was originally written in 1992, it continues to help couples today, selling more than 12 million copies since it was first published.

Here’s an overview of each of the five love languages Chapman describes:

READ:  50 Hilarious Cheesy Pick-Up Lines That Will Definitely Make Your Crush Smile

What do you think?

1k Points
Upvote Downvote